Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: Im sorry, but can someone plz help me understand all this?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am by no means new to Freelancer. But I AM new to discovery, and, frankly, I love it! I love the new ships. I love the role playing. But this community has me more than a little confused about some things.

1: I am given the impression that it is possible to rename my ship. How? Am I just changing my character name? Or is my ship name and character name separate?

2: I am also given the impression that it is possible to own more than one ship, unlike vanilla freelancer. How is this possible?

3: The PVP rules are very extensive, and I understand the necessity of this. But how far does this go? I originally wanted to role play a man whose father was killed by pirates, and after selling the family business to buy a combat vessel, goes out hunting any and all pirates he can find.

Unfortunately, simply flying around and attacking any and all pirate players I find while screaming "DIE PIRATE SCUM!!!" seems to be against the rules. I MUST join a faction, such as the BHG. THEN I can only hunt those bounties that are posted (and just happen to catch the guy somewhere in the vastness of this game while he is online)? And further, I'm NOT allowed to fly a gunboat in house space? Why? I'm not an unlawful.

So maybe I will join another faction: The liberty navy wont let me fly a gunboat either.

Maybe Ill fly with the pirates instead. Since my original role play idea isn't feasible, maybe ill try something that will allow me more freedom of choice AND net me some action now and then. Surely a pirate factions rules wont be so strict, right?

Nope. Liberty rogues restricts gunboat usage to the leadership only.