Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: First DIY Build
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Just thought I would check here first before making an account on some place that I would only use once.

So I've decided to build my own computer for the first time, however I am coming into it with very little info. I have always been a software kind of person and most of my info has come from in-game chats. What I've learned so far has been plain unhelpful (things like "i7 IS L337!!" and "PILEDRIVERZ!!!11!1").

Now I have done some research with the help of some smart people and a friend and have done a basic gaming build. I'm sure there's someone here that actually knows something about hardware and could review my build for bottlenecks or little mishaps that I might have made out of ignorance.

Build Progression...
Original Build (i3)
Edit 1
Switch 1 (i5)
Edit 2.1
Edit 2.2
I'm no expert, but I do have some experience in this field imo.

Anyways, one thing, from personal experience, change your powersupply, I had a thermaltake TR-2 750 W Modular PSU die on me two days after buying it, also from what i've heard from others, they've had similarly bad experiences.

My recommendation would be a Corsair Builder Series or Seasonic PSU (if you have the budget, their X series is awesome, I own one)

On the case, grab a different one without a window, they're bad for ventilation from what I understand. I'd suggest the BitFenix MercAlpha personally, it has room for up to 8 120mm fans, 7 expansion slots and is about $50 USD iirc. Of course, this is personal preference.

Good call on the Optical drive, I myself own an asus drive and it works great
Also, Antec for everything is good

EDIT1: Question, why is there a second Optical drive?
(10-02-2013, 03:15 AM)Vape Wrote: [ -> ]EDIT1: Question, why is there a second Optical drive?