Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: Newbie on the Forums
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Greetings Everyone,

I played the Original Freelancer Campaign back in 2011, and I have been enjoying playing on the RP server for a few months now. I am mostly involved in trading, mining and a little bit of smuggling. Role play is not my strong point, so if anyone has any tips on how to improve, they will be greatly appreciated.

I am very new to the forums, but hope to learn a lot and make a positive contribution to the community.

Thanks everyone, and see you in space

EDIT: Name changed for various reasons
Welcome! Enjoy your stay.
The name doe.

Hello.
Ah... tips on RP.

Well, I suppose we have about as much opinions on that as we have players.

In short : avoid Powergaming ( setting up a situation in wich you deny another character the possibility of reacting freely as he sees fit )
And : avoid Metagaming ( knowing about things you do not know about in character. Like reading a post with a police character and acting according to this knowledge with a pirate character )

Fact is : Rules are important to ceep gaming balanced, but they also restrict RP.
The trick is to stay inside the rules and conventions, but still *living out your dreams and ideas*.
Most roleplayers tend to fall in love for their own characters, and it´s hard to loose, hard not to *do what you like* ...
and essentially thats the whole secret of *good RP*

Find your own balance, let others play and dream while you play and dream yourself.
A nice tip I always give is actually a quote from Sébastien-Roch Nicolas de Chamfort :
Freely translated : Do what you like , as long as you harm nobody. That is the secret of freedom.

All you post , all you do : it will interact with the stories and ideas of others.
And how it will work you only learn by trying.
In a RP ... there are no real winners or loosers. Only gamers.