Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: I was bored so I decided to sit down and make a tutorial on signatures.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Let's talk about signatures

Tips & tricks, effects and hints

-- Intro
I've seen a lot of people making signatures. Some of them are gorgeous, some of them are plain ugly. There isn't one universal guide on how to make a signature, but there are a few things that you should take note of. These aren't completely mandatory but in general outline stuff that make the signature aesthetically pleasing to the eye.

As far as my background is concerned, I happen to know a thing or two about making sigs (mostly because I've been doing it for a while), but please do not consider this tutorial as an authority but as a few tips that could be useful.

I suppose the first thing we should start on is - what is a signature. Signature, or, as dA calls it signature banner, by my definition is an image made out of other images composed together to create one complex piece of art. That sounds vague enough, so by comparison let's look at music. Music has artists - people that create songs and DJs that make a few songs sound well together. Signature is very much the second one. While getting into making these is quite easy, mastering this takes a lot of time and is very difficult.

In most of the signatures we can distinguish four elements - character, caption (or text), effects and background. All of them need to work together well to make the signature look good.

In this tutorial we're going to talk about stuff that you probably heard about in your art classes - composition, dynamic, colouristic, light-shadow and so on, and apply them to signatures. Sounds easy enough, so let's get started.

As examples I will be using my own signatures from my Music Speedart series, so on every one you can click and find a video (speedart) on how it was made.