Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: Hi Everyone
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm an old noob. Someone out there might remember me, but if you don't... good.

After my last bout with Freelancer Discovery RP, I finished my degree in Computer Engineering, and have spent a considerable amount of time searching for a good space exploration/trading game. A few up and coming space games are really promising, but there just isn't anything out there as good as Freelancer as of now.

I want to go ahead and write my inevitably unpopular opinion, and hope that I don't get banned for it until I actually break a rule. Note that I haven't played in about 5 years, so my opinion is dated, and I realize that.
Pirates shouldn't be required to have a license. What the hell kind of outlaw carries a license to break laws?! If Discovery RP were really trying to play roles, then:
- Most of the rules would not apply to outlaws (including rules about carrying licenses for your ship type/class/faction, etc, but not including the rules about roleplay in Connecticut and griefing, etc.)
- A player who breaks the laws too often should be punished by loss of reputation with every in-game faction except for the unlawful ones (allowing some small rep with certain places, so the outlaw can rebuild his rep with effort). The goal would be to make it difficult for pirates to survive outside of areas owned by unlawful npcs and players.
- If an outlaw player becomes too notorious among mods and "police" players, then the "next stage" of punishment should be to append a mark to the outlaw's playertag, so that every other player knows to shoot on sight.
- Even among lawful players, the rules related to keeping the right license for your ship type/class/faction should be enforced by ruining player reputation with npc factions related to the ship in question.