Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: Building my first gaming PC
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So after a few months of saving cash (and also cursing the country i live in for the outrageous prices on graphic cards ) i've finally decided to make a build . I'm New to this and i would like your thoughts

Intel core i5 6600 k
Cooler master hyper 212 x ( i heard that using this cooler means i cant insert ram on my first two slots)
Corsair DDR4 Vengeance LPX 2400Mhz 8 gigs x 2
Asus Z170 Pro gaming Motherboard
Asus Strix or Zotac Ampextreme 1070(is there even a significant perfomance gain between the amp and amp extreme ???? )
650 Corsair PSU

and Finally the case , This is were i require some serious help ,

(Btw The ambient temperatures in my room are around 32 degrees )

These are the cases I've been looking on , I want to know whether these cases will easily hold on all my components with at least a little space

Deepcool Kendomen
Antec GX300 ( i like this one the most )
Corsair spec 03

Help is much appreciated
Thank you Smile
Hey there.

First of all, remember that for optimal gaming performance, you need to allocate most of your money into your graphics card and CPU, without going into extremes. The 1070 as far as I've seen is a good choice, but you might be paying a bit too big of a price premium due to its relative newness. A GTX 970 and 980 and their respective TI varients might be better priced, depending on your country and offer only slightly less performance - we are talking a few frames per second here.

Secondly, do not go overboard with RAM. There is no significant difference between a DDR4 setup and a DDR 1600mhz CL9s, unless you are using integrated graphics. There is almost no performance gains. I suggest you stick with 8-16 GB of regular low-profile Corsair DDR3 1600-1800s.