Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: File Control
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I pulled this from our forums to share with ya'll. The original poster was QL. He was our modder before work took up all his life:

And now today's lesson on OS manipulation.

Ownership and permissions are the root cause of all your patch implosions. How do I know? Aside from debugging most of you and watching the logs for flags, I run the same stuff you do though I use it differently. For me, fouling a patch requires me to actively bork it intentionally. Yes, I know a great deal about computers. Yes, I have a certain moral ambiguity when it comes to "handling" software. Yes, all this stuff comes easy to me. It's what I do and have been for a living back to the time I still had hair on my noggin.
So how in the world can I make you see or get what I'm trying to ultimately teach you about UAC? I hit a wall at times explaining it so I fall back to a certain skill set that makes me very fluent with software. Rather than embedding little toys in the patch to make your machines do what I want them to do, I'm going to give you something. Something very powerful and I urge you not to use it willy nilly. Used on the wrong stuff this can get a little ugly.

READ ALL OF IT AND READ IT CAREFULLY
This is for W7-W10 users ONLY
The following is the text for a regedit file that will install entries onto your boxes. It will add an option to your right click shell menu that will grant ownership and Admin privs to YOU on your box for whatever file or folder (incl subs) that you use it on. It is currently configured for ME atm but I will explain how to mod it so it's specific to you.

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\runas]
@="Take Ownership"
"NoWorkingDirectory"=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\runas\command]
@="cmd.exe /c takeown /f \"%1\" && icacls \"%1\" /grant Quantumloop:F"