Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: My opinion on why the game has constantly been losing players
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19
Starting off, I've been meaning to do this for a while now, but I was constantly lazy to do and since it's nearly new year time, it's time for reflection so here it goes: even though this is a new account with no posts, I've been playing Discovery on and off for about 8 years, since 2009 to be precise and I've seen the mod go from the chaotic state it was in 4.84 to the glory days many call 4.85 and to its present, weird version.

So, why do I think disco has been on a downward spiral for the last few years? I'm gonna try to bring up some arguments, listed below, in no particular order of severity.

1. The game has got old.

The truth is, Freelancer is an old game and it shows, even with the latest additions.

Its relatively simplistic nature doesn't leave much space for customization or for complex gameplay scenarios, and its outdated mechanics and netcode don't help either.

2. The community is an aging niche market.

Freelancer is neither a space sim like the preceeding Wing Commander and Freespace games, and neither a full blown arcade shooter, it's somewhere in the middle.

Another aging-related problem might be the users themselves, I was 12 when I first started playing, and as such, whenever I played I faction I was fully invested in that faction, developing an us vs them mindset, which made me irrationally hate the enemy factions, leading to hilarious flame outbursts, trolling and admittedly, toxicity.

Although I have no proof of this, I believe quite a few of the old members back then were also of a young age with similar... issues.

3. The various balancing changes to the game.