Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: So, I'm developing a space simulation
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Greetings ladies and gentlemen.

I'm a Unity3D developer and I've been working on an arcade space sandbox game for four months. I've decided to wait until I have some content to show before I started marketing the game. So I figured, where else could I find a potentially interested crowd than here?

[Image: 8nVRCN0.jpg]

How it all started

Discovery Freelancer brought me and my friends many hours of fun and memories from simpler times. Motivated by my love for space games and with the knowledge of game development at my disposal, I've decided to start my own little project. I want this project to revive that feeling I've had when I played Freelancer as a kid, the curiosity and the amazement with what I'd seen and what I'd been a part of.
So before you ask; no, this is not a Freelancer clone or successor. The game (which still has no title apart from the working name, SpaceSim) is inspired by the best aspects of some of the games I've played, most notably Freelancer and the X series. Having said that, it has certain unique features that none of the mentioned games have. In the past several months I've implemented quite a number of features, but much more is still to come. I enjoy working on this project and I hope to one day (rather soon hopefully) release the game for everyone. Do keep in mind that I have a zero budget for the entire game, so I'm either creating the content myself or using free content. Also, I have a day job so I work on the game in my free time, which is only about 2 to 3 hours per day. Therefore please curb your expectations.

Development videos