Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: Discovery Newbie
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello all,

This is my first time trying out FLBig Grin. I've been wanting a comfy space sim/trading sim and decided to return to Freelancer (again), but this time try out the mod since it looks to add so many new features. How do I go about getting setup? I'm not overly interested in combat, rather more so joining a trading/merchant organization. Maybe a few fire fights here and there.

How strict are the RP rules? Are we allowed to talk about real-world events in game, so long as we use character names and follow server rules? I don't mind RP but I really just want to grab a freighter and make some trade runs (and make money for whoever I side with).
WelcomeBig Grin

A lot of questions will be answered when you read the Server Rules, don't forget to look into the House Roleplay Laws, that may help you.

Within the Newcomers section you can find the helpful link database. Read whatever you need to read.

For tradin factions: you should visit the Official factions section here, there you can find a lot of interesting factions.

Good luck and see you in spaceBig Grin
Hello and welcome
Howdy hey there! Most real world events wouldn't be known to the people of Sirius, being that current-day Earth existed approximately 2,000 years prior to the events of Freelancer.

Since you're looking for a trading organization (commonly called factions), I can think of a few off the top of my head, those being Ageira~ (Liberty), Universal Shipping Inc (Liberty), the Bretonian Merchant Navy, Samura| (Kusari), Kruger (Rheinland, more of a mining faction than a pure transport group), and Ill-De-France Shipping (Gallia). If you'd prefer to skip the loooong explanation of each faction, you can skip to the bottom of my post where a line separates the TL;DR (Too Lazy; Didn't Read) and the information sections!