Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: Got an idea...
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
The following may or may not be possible, logical, or making any sense whatsoever

Righto. It'll take me a huge wall of text to explain this to people without any knowledge of websites, but I'll try my best to still keep it mildly understandable.:P

What you need to do
Okay. I've worked with invisionfree (think free version of Invision Power Board, which is what this site is using) as an administrator myself, and I don't remember this being possible due to lack of FTP (file management) access. Still, seeing as this is the paid version, persuasion-of-staff/Do-it-yourself (You got FTP access?) ftw?

Moving on...

There is a phpBB3 (Yes, I personally think PHPBB3 > Invision Power Board) hack (mod) going like this...
Quote: #
#-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------
#
includes/ucp/ucp_register.php

#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------
#

$data = array(
'username' => utf8_normalize_nfc(request_var('username', '', true)),
'new_password' => request_var('new_password', '', true),
'password_confirm' => request_var('password_confirm', '', true),
'email' => strtolower(request_var('email', '')),
'email_confirm' => strtolower(request_var('email_confirm', '')),
'confirm_code' => request_var('confirm_code', ''),
'lang' => basename(request_var('lang', $user->lang_name)),
'tz' => request_var('tz', (float) $timezone),
);

#
#----[ AFTER, ADD ]------------------------------------------
#

if ($data['tz'] == -12.00)
{
die('Die, bot! Die.');
}

#
#-----[ SAVE/CLOSE ALL FILES ]------------------------------------------
#
# EoM

Obviously, this is impossible to do the same way in Invision Power Board, as the two types of forums differ too much. Basically,

Is it possible to block registrations from a specific time zone?

...Or to persuade the local maintenance team to do so for you?