Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: Who are my friends and foes as a Gaian?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi, I'm relatively new to the mod (played it briefly ages ago) and I'm trying to get myself into the current lore to allow for some meaningful RP. I have a handful of characters by now that have a straightforward list of friends and foes and then I have a Gaian character.

Now, I found a bunch of conflicting information with respect to Gaians' allies:
  • The wiki page on the NPC faction names the Corsairs and a brief cooperation with the Kusari Naval Forces.
  • This wiki page names Corsairs, Hogosha, Farmer's Alliance and some sympathy for the SCRA.
  • The Transponder Spoofer names only the Liberty Seperatists as allies while Corsairs, Hogosha, FA are completely neutral.
I tried to figure it out myself but this left me with some questions:
  1. What's the lore with respect to Gaians' (former?) alliance with the Corsairs?
  2. Why would they prefer Hogosha over the Junkers? If there is one other eco-friendly faction out there, wouldn't it be the Junkers?
  3. I can get somewhat behind allying with the Farmer's Alliance since they oppose Synth Foods but on the other hand they don't quite resemble an organic farming collective having planted "customized seeds" from Samura laboratories in the past.
  4. Who even are the liberty seperatists and what have the Bretonia/Tau based Gaians to do with them?
Then, there are the lists of Gaians' many enemies which are similarly inconsistent, though I can't give a complete comparison of all sources here. Just as an example, the Transponder Spoofer says Natio Octavarium are neutral, my GaianI-IDed character is somehow almost allied with them and yet the Gaian base in Tau-31 gives me a mission to kill them. That's just confusing.