Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: This Weeks Hypothetical Scenario
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
In response to another thread, let us banter.

I can see the community being split here, and that is fine. This is a banter after all and we need people to argue in a civil manner. But here are my thoughts on this matter.

Wreck camping as it can be called to me and others, is Metagaming.

Wikipedia Wrote:In role-playing games, metagaming is the use of out-of-character knowledge in an in-character situation. A character played by a metagamer does not act in a way that reflects the character's in-game experiences and back-story.

To me, and in the server rules, isn't that AGAINST the server rules? Let us put it into context with an in-character scenario.

"I am a pilot who has found valuable loot on a wrecked ship, as in the days of old in pirate sailing! I'm going to be rich!". That RP I can understand, and frankly love, that is the nature of the CODENAME weapons. Buried treasure.

Sadly, not everyone shared my love for that style of RP and log-in, shoot, tractor and log off with little to no interaction or deviation. I'm not sure myself, but some stay as a civilian under a level 30 to avoid any kind of retaliation or interaction. A shield by default.

On the flip side, people utilize this tactic to earn money, this I can sympathise, trading is boring, and missions are cheap unless your in a large ship that can withstand the large missions solo. Arms Dealers have personally annoyed me, but that that is a story for another time.

Arms dealers DO work for their money. They sit there, being preyed on being paranoid. When all along for the same amount of time, they could be trading. But they sit there advertising their wares like eBay in space, loudly.