Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: Want to say Hello!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello, people of Discovery!:D I have been playing now for a few days trying to get a feel for the game as I am fairly new to role play (ANY advise on how to RP would be greatly appreciated). I love Freelancer and think its a great game. Ive played through the campaign a few times and always thought it would be fun to play online in a mmo setting, but could never find anything about it till just recently when I searched on a whim. lol go figure that's when I would find Discovery. Well anyways needles to say I was very surprised to find that Freelancer still had an online following and that the storyline and history of Sirius had been drawn out. I would very much like to be a part of the community here (and yes I've read ALL the rules) but as I stated I would like to know more about RP so I don't look like a total noob in game. Always willing to accept advise.
Thanks, :yahoo:
~ANUBIS~
Welcome.

Uhm, how RP should be? Very simple, think about how your character would do things and... Do those things in-game (make sure not to break the rules though). It's not some special art form, you can make it interesting though by making unconventional characters:P.
What helps with RPing.. is choosing a character in a favorite book or movie etc... and changing the name and find a faction that his roll will fit. Also being good at writing is helpful.
Welcome to Discovery. Basically, the simplest way to RP is to find a faction, read up a bit on its diplomacy and then act like you're a member of that faction (although adding a few quirks to your character can make them stand out). Joining an official faction (a list of which can be found Here) can also help your RP skills immensely.