Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: Something that we can ALL Benefit from
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
New users on the Internet are sometimes called "newbies" [or in Discovery's case "lolwut]. Everybody was a newbie once. It is considered to be very good netiquette to share your knowledge and help others who ask questions by email, in news groups, on mailing lists, and in chat rooms, thereby passing on some of the knowledge you have gained. Help the newbies as you wish you were helped.

I was doing research one day on how to properly act on public websites such as this one. It was a research project which I had to do for one of my courses, an Intro to Marketing and Business course in college. I am studying to go into the field on Marketing.

A project that we had to do was how to act properly on the internet. I found a very interesting thing called "netiquette".

Recently I have seen a numerous amount of forums bans do to trolling, insulting, flaming, ext.......

These are the core rules of Netiquette: I bolded some that I think apply to Discovery

Remember the Human

Adhere to the same standards of behavior online as you do in REAL life

Know where you are in cyberspace

Respect other peoples time and bandwidth

Make your self look good online

Share expert knowledge

Help keep flame wars under control

Respect other peoples privacy

Do not abuse your power

Be forgiving of other peoples mistakes

If you want in detail explanations to any of those simple rules just tell me which on and I will be more than happy to do so for you.

By now, some of you are thinking in your head, "What is the B***S***."

This BS is my attempt to the keep our forums a better place to interact with the fellow members of the Discovery community.

If this was in the Flood some of you would be putting +1's and than some flames to make yourself look good, at least in your mind.