Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: Anyone owns Radeon HD 6850?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm about to buy one from US websites (a lot cheaper than in EU). Anyone of you guys own one and by which manufacturer? Was about to go for the Sapphire. These 6000 series have improved video transcoding acceleration (please reply if you did some video rendering with any 6000), which interests me the most (besides gaming).

Or it is better to just pay extra $20-30 and buy 6870 which in most cases has a core speed only 7-9% faster and doesn't sound like it's that much faster.

P.S. Don't recommend NVIDIA, don't like em.
I've got an XFX 6870 and it's certainly worth the extra cost. The only problem you're going to have is the fact that AMD still haven't made a stable driver that supports the new 6000 series after 2 months. I've had lots of bad experiences with Sapphire cards exploding/falling to pieces/burning in the past so I'd stay away from them if I were you, go for XFX, Gigabyte or ASUS.
' Wrote:I've got an XFX 6870 and it's certainly worth the extra cost. The only problem you're going to have is the fact that AMD still haven't made a stable driver that supports the new 6000 series after 2 months. I've had lots of bad experiences with Sapphire cards exploding/falling to pieces/burning in the past so I'd stay away from them if I were you, go for XFX, Gigabyte or ASUS.

Hm. Damn you!:)You made me question my choice now. Asus and Gigabyte enter the contest again.

I've had Sapphire; last three cards, never went dead on me. But I do believe of your experiences of course.
Heh, could be I was just unlucky but I can't help but remain doubtful when it comes to Sapphire products.