Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: 3D Monitors, 120Hz refresh rate and Freelancer
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hey everyone,

I've been looking around the net for a possible second monitor for my gaming rig. Oh wait...isn't that A 3rd monitor then? Damn I'm confused, someone help me out here. Ha-Ha.:)

Since I'm an avid addict of Freelancer who is hopelessly addicted to this awesome game we are blessed to have.
I would like to compliment my current setup which is a 24 Inch Acer H243HX plus an old 15 Inch Panaview LCD.

The 15 Inch Panaview I use for Team Speak monitoring and taking notes with or watching TV as I have a dual tuner digital PCI-Express card.

The Acer 24 Inch H243HX has colourshine on the Panel which makes the colours gorgeous and unbelievable to say the least however it's still a CCFL Blacklight screen and not LED like the newer LCD Monitors out today.

I would like to purchase a higher quality screen with 3D Capabilities which I have read run a 120Hz refresh rate.

Similar to those old school CRT monitors which where around back in my youth. Ha-Ha.
I've read the motion capture and lack of jerkyness in fast paced motion in games like Counter Strike are very noticeable.

Now thinking of Freelancer it sounds like the new 3D monitors could really help out with the lovely new Graphics Tweaks we have in the Discovery mod.

In System Battles where often at least on Archy's Portal we have allot of players all gunning for each other for the claim and glory of owning a system.
I imagine the break throughs in 3D Monitors would help make all the gun fire and the fast paced spinning action of the strafing ships look all that much prettier.

Is there anyone out there with a 3D Monitor setup with FReelancer and can advise if the 120Hz makes a difference or looking for a similar setup to myself and has the same question?