Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: NPC Numbers
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I started playing Discovery earlier this year. But due to some unfortunate circumstances, I had to stop somewhere around April.

Now that I started again, I noticed that the number of NPCs showing up throughout Sirius has again been lowered dramatically. So my question is, did the server start decreasing the amounts of NPCs when player count is up?

If that is the case, I personally feel that NPC encounters are essential to any Freelancer experience. For example, my explorer/scientist character now feels kind of deprived of an essential feature. Because space without NPCs is simply devoid of life and everything, every base, planet, tradelane seems pointless. This is in due part to the fact that human players are few and far in between making most of the space simply kind of pointless and ghastly. Flying through is simply depressing and very tedious.

So, I would like to now what is the current situation concerning NPCs, how will it develop, as they were an essential part in my Freelancer experience, as I believe they were in the experiences of other players!

Cheers!:)
The number and frequency of NPC spawns are directly tied to the number of players connected to the server. The more players, the less NPCs, and vice versa. This is to reduce stress on the server during high population periods.

If you log onto the server when there are 100 or more players, you'll rarely see any NPCs. If you log on when there are 40 or fewer players, you'll be getting swarmed to death by NPCs in any hostile system.
' Wrote:...as they were an essential part in my Freelancer experience, as I believe they were in the experiences of other players!
Sorry, have to disagree with you here. NPCs are severely annoying and get in the way of the main point of the server--RPing with other PEOPLE.