Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: A newcomer appears
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello there, space persons.

First of all, please allow me to introduce myself.
Known as Valen Tissenoir, I have been exploring the depths of space since 2005.
Well, maybe that's a bit too much of hero-intro-thing.

I have played Freelancer quite much several years ago, when I was still 11 to 14 years old. I must say that I really enjoyed playing this game (solo campaign and LAN server only, but there was already so much to do), especially the freedom in player's choices and actions, and the wide range of spaceships and weapons.

A couple of months ago, I heard about a "possibly upcoming" space opera called Infinity.
(You might want to check this out, it looks promising : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFYEMxaow9A...feature=related ... I also hope it's not forbidden to post a link to another game, as I can't seem to find a forum rules thread)
After checking some videos, it somehow reminded me of "that awesome space game I played during my childhood". Investigating quite much along with old friends of mine, we found in an old dresser the legendary box : "Freelancer"... "Dans l'univers, tout est possible".
That's right, french version. (I'm french, obviously e.e)

After some (short) googling, I ended up on this website :
http://discoveryfl.com/
I then searched for some videos on youtube, and I must admit they were breath-taking.
Discovery looked like a great mod, often updated, including pretty massive multiplayer on some servers (including this one), tons of new areas to explore, dozens of new ships and weaponry to discover, wield or fear, and a huge community.

I felt excited as a kid in a toy store about installing this mod and playing online. Unfortunately, I read that I needed a "clean, vanilla install of the english version of the game", or something like that.