Discovery Gaming Community
Repair Gun not possible eh ? - Printable Version

+- Discovery Gaming Community (https://discoverygc.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Discovery Development (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: Discovery Mod General Discussion (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=37)
+--- Thread: Repair Gun not possible eh ? (/showthread.php?tid=12297)

Pages: 1 2 3 4


Repair Gun not possible eh ? - ScornStar - 09-26-2008

Lets not forget repairing caps while the battle is in progress. I see this tool as better used on capital ships in battle. As for fighters your right vape cant use it till the battle is over.


Repair Gun not possible eh ? - Vape - 09-26-2008

true, but it'd still have its uses.

a couple of these things would be perfect for nova squadron.
i mean we could conduct a hit n fade, escape then return to friendly space for repairs


Repair Gun not possible eh ? - pipsqueak - 10-16-2008

if it is taking an integer value, would an over flow cause a negative effect ?

oooh interesting thing I found....

http://flhook.drachennest200x.de/forum/vie...ight=repair+gun

and this

http://flhook.drachennest200x.de/forum/vie...ight=repair+gun

..and just in case that site disappears...
Quote:TaknTar



Joined: 25 Nov 2006
Posts: 20


PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm Post subject: Set Base-Damage Reply with quote
Ok, for my miningfactories I had the request to give them a chance to repair by some equipment. Here is some code to set the damage of a base. I guess, it can be used for other objects, too.
You'll have to give the nickname of the base and the percentage of the damage. I use it in the event-mode.
Most copied from the code to set the damage of ships:

Code:
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// TaknTar
// it works in a range of 0.001 to 1
// with the dead of the player comes a message killed by admin.
void CCmds::CmdSetDamageBase(wstring wscBaseNickname, wstring wscdamage)
{
RIGHT_CHECK(RIGHT_BEAM);

float d = ToFloat(wscdamage);

if ( d > 1 ) d = 1;
if ( d < 0 ) d = 0;

if(HKSUCCESS(HkSetDamageBase(wscBaseNickname, d )))
Print(L"OK\n");
else
PrintError();
}


and

Code:
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// TaknTar 08/2007
// addon to vary the damage
// DamageBase = % of the maxhealth of the base 0-100% = 0 - 1
HK_ERROR HkSetDamageBase(wstring wscBaseNickname, float DamageBase )
{

uint iBaseID = 0;
pub::GetBaseID(iBaseID, wstos(wscBaseNickname).c_str());
if(!iBaseID)
{
string scBaseShortcut = IniGetS(set_scCfgFile, "names", wstos(wscBaseNickname), "");
if(!scBaseShortcut.length())
return HKE_INVALID_BASENAME;

if(pub::GetBaseID(iBaseID, scBaseShortcut.c_str()) == -4)
return HKE_INVALID_BASENAME;
}

Universe::IBase *base = Universe::get_base(iBaseID);

pub::SpaceObj::SetRelativeHealth(base->lSpaceObjID, DamageBase);

return HKE_OK;
}

Oh, and writing this, we can use this not only to repair a station...
Perhaps its useful for you Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
w0dk4



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 113


PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:48 pm Post subject: Reply with quote
Are you sure this works?

My experience with this function used on ships was, that it does not really work, except when you set the percentage to 0 which kills the ship..

/woha, you are right it works on bases Smile
Im not sure about ships though, I have to retest that!

w0dk4



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 113


PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 6:10 pm Post subject: Reply with quote
It also works on ships. I was totally wrong Smile Thats great news Surprised)



Repair Gun not possible eh ? - I_m_rdy - 10-16-2008

Yep, it's been ever known as a FLHook hack. If done right we might get those things here on Disco as well and Repair ships would be a tick more useful.


Repair Gun not possible eh ? - Lux - 10-17-2008

Hm, sounds interesting. Yet another thing "to be looked into" by the developers. If this could be implemented it would be fantastic, but I think that there is room for abuse of this (example: A gunboat and a small fleet of repair ships attack an enemy group. At first the targets concentrate fire on the big ship, the gunboat, but every time they get his shields down he gets swarmed by repair blasts. So when they attack the repair ships, they just repair each other.) I'd suggest, in order to avoid something like that, to make the repair turrets take a lot of energy so that they have to be used sparingly.


Repair Gun not possible eh ? - pipsqueak - 10-17-2008

Unless you make the gun range only 20 distance, repairing 200 hull repair per shot 2 shots per second. and a lvl 10 fighter shield.
Now if a ship wants repair, it sits close by for a repair shot, meaning he is a sitting duck for people attacking it, or ipt does tactical passed to be repaired, meaning it will not get a free ride. Make the gun shot animation look like the miners welders you see out in Tau 31.

Primarily for RP not for a true advantage. so they can help ships repair primarily when they are not being hammered.


Repair Gun not possible eh ? - n00bl3t - 10-17-2008

I have seen this done without any ill effects on another FL mod.

Tekagis Treasure. Ask Ringy or Uni there how they did it. (They are the Mod Designers.)


Repair Gun not possible eh ? - Guest - 10-31-2008

pipsqueak, because of lag, a range of 20 isnt all too smart as that gives little room for error in the case of ramming.

A range of say 250 (on average 1/3 to 1/2 that of normal weapon) would be better.

Also, there wouldnt be much sense in having different classed repair guns for Caps / Fighters if they are energy based, as the one for Caps would be used to repair fighters instantly. If they are made Ammo weapons, using Bots / Bats as ammo, then sure.

Cap Repair Gun = 10000 hull, 0.5-1.0 refire, 500 range
Fighter Repair Gun = 2500 hull, 1.0-2.0 refire, 250 range

Also, just a note to Scornstar, Class 6 Turrets could also be used by any ship that can use Class 7 or lower turrets such as Luxury Liners. Best bet would be make a Repair Guns a special class weapon that only Repair Ships have access to. (This can be done through weap_equip.ini and shiparch.ini)


Repair Gun not possible eh ? - Varyag - 10-31-2008

The higher level doesn't always work, otherwise you could load gb guns on a cruiser or a bs.


Repair Gun not possible eh ? - pipsqueak - 11-01-2008

hmm unless it requires an insane amount of power that only a BS power plant can deliver.

the more difficult way would be to make it so repair gun is lvl 10.
Transport = lvl 6
GB = lvl 7
Cruiser = lvl 8
BS = lvl 9
Repair ship = lvl 10