Discovery Gaming Community
Rules Clarification Thread - Printable Version

+- Discovery Gaming Community (https://discoverygc.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Rules & Requests (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Forum: Rules (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+---- Forum: Official Disco Rules (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=306)
+---- Thread: Rules Clarification Thread (/showthread.php?tid=140171)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - Dhomie42 - 02-21-2020

====================
RULE: 4.1 If you die whilst in a PVP situation, in any form, you are considered as ''PVP Dead''. A PVP Dead player must:
Leave the system the fight took place in for one hour. You must not carry cargo while doing so and must not engage in any player interaction while you are leaving. Other players must allow a PVP Dead player to leave the system.
Not re-enter the system they died in on any of their characters for one hour.
Not attack the player/players they died to on any of their characters for one hour.


QUESTION: If someone is PvP-dead in one system, for example let's say I combat-docked on Riverside, in California, and I moved to New York instead, can the "killer(s)" follow me, and can they hunt me down just like that despite being PvP-dead to them already ?
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:As the Rules stand, it isn't against the Rules. It could be seen as bad sportsmanship, but it also could depend on the circumstances. For instances, if you were playing a Pirate in California and were shot down by the forces of the Law, then you moved to NY to ply your trade, one could not expect the Lawful forces to just ignore you.


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - stardust47 - 04-07-2020

====================
RULE: 2.2 Signatures can't be larger than 700*250px and 1mb
QUESTION: Do these limits include text?
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:(Leave blank for Admin/Mod comment)


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - Nightowl - 04-29-2020

====================
RULE: Zone of Influence
QUESTION:
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:(Leave blank for Admin/Mod comment)

The rules do not describe exactly what the ZoI is and how it is determined.
(Or how the ZoI is set for the ID's.)


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - Nightowl - 04-29-2020

====================
RULE: Player Owned Bases
QUESTION: When an attack of a Core 1-PoB is in the Attack Declaration thread and the Base is updated to Core 2 ist the Attack Declaration still valis without roleplay?
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:(Leave blank for Admin/Mod comment)


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - Vitoniz30 - 04-29-2020

====================
RULE: Outer Regional Space
House Military, Police, and Intelligence factions may enforce roleplay consequences upon any players and factions found breaking House Laws within Outer Regional Space, only if they are personally there to witness to the legal infraction while uncloaked and equipped with a House Military, Police, or Intelligence faction ID.
QUESTION: Since rules haven't transparent explanations about cloaks and enforcing roleplay consequences, I'd like to ask, what factions may or may not gather intel while cloaked? What about unlawful, civilians or quasi-lawful, lawful non-House factions?
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:(Leave blank for Admin/Mod comment)


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - Its Raisu - 06-05-2020

====================
RULE:
Rule-related text

Quote:4.5 All IDs can attack Nomads and Wild within their own Zone of Influence. All IDs may attack Nomads to protect others while outside of their Zone of Influence, regardless of normal restrictions.

As an example, this would mean a DSE ship could proactively attack any Nomad or Wild ID within its defined Zone of Influence. If that same ship was in the Omicrons, it could not proactively initiate a fight against the Nomads. If the ship happened across an ongoing fight against the Nomads in the Omicrons, it could join in to assist without any problems.

LSF ID-related text:
Quote:- Can only attack in self-defense when using cruisers outside their Zone of Influence.
- Can ally with unlawful factions.
QUESTION:
4.5 allows all IDs to attack Nomads to protect others while outside ZoI regardless of normal restrictions
With the idea that ID lines override rules where a conflict occurs, line 6 of the ID would prevent a cruiser from attacking unless it was in self-defense.

Going to the example given in the rule, the DSE ID states "- Can attack any ship in self-defense, to protect an allied or neutral lawful ship, or in defense of a base of the same affiliation, anywhere."
This would normally appear to mean that a DSE ship could not attack, unless in self defense. Even if they came across an ongoing fight between <Insert not-allied, not neutral lawful> Faction and Nomads.
Yet, the example given using a DSE ship/player says that the DSE player would be able to join to assist, apparently without exception.

Does the phrasing "regardless of normal restrictions" override the otherwise usual ID override of server rules as it appears to with the example?
Would an LSF Cruiser outside their ZoI be able to then, like the DSE in the example, "join an ongoing fight against Nomads in the Omicrons to assist"?
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:(Leave blank for Admin/Mod comment)

Non-Admin/Mod Answer: Since making this post, Rule 4.4 has been updated to include "the ID overrides the rules (except 4.5, 4.6 and 4.7).".


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - Hubjump - 06-12-2020

====================
RULE:1.5 Meta/powergaming
QUESTION:Does/should this apply to forum mechanics? A POB can be re-declared on indefinitely as on current and that sounds pretty powergame-y to me. And declaring on a full page of POB's could give the attackers an advantage of having to only win one fight against the defenders before finishing off a POB and instantly moving on to the next for the remaining duration of the defenders being PVP dead. Even if the POB's declared on are of separate factions.
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:(Leave blank for Admin/Mod comment)


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - AxelBurn - 10-22-2020

Is there something in the rules against making a character and playing without a faction tag?


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - darkwind - 10-22-2020

(10-22-2020, 05:29 AM)AxelBurn Wrote: Is there something in the rules against making a character and playing without a faction tag?
It is not allowed only if you joined official factions through their recruitment threads at forum and equipped official ID, but there are special exceptions even for officials.

As indie(not official) you are allowed to name yourself in anyway you want and to be without tags, as long as you follow the next rule:
Quote:1.6 - Character, faction, ship and station names must be roleplay appropriate and easily readable. The use of profanity, country tags, memes, pop-culture references, non-English letters or excess symbols is not allowed. For examples, look here



RE: Rules Clarification Thread - Morosz - 01-30-2021

====================
RULE: #3. Combat and Piracy
QUESTION:
Basically. What does and what doesn't constitue as an attack? Is firing a CD at someone an attack? Is dropping their shields below 50%? Both? Neither?
In 3.5 it says that: Attack first by draining the shield down to 50% or firing a cruise disruptor;
But this is specifically for Characters at or below level 29. So I'm a bit connfused as there is no other clear indication or statement anywhere on the rules thread wich is wierd.

====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:(Leave blank for Admin/Mod comment)A couple of CDs to stop a ship fleeing is not constituted as an attack, but constantly CD'ing someone can be constituted as an attack. An attack is anything that is done to drain the shield/hull with a view to damage a ship - SD