Discovery Gaming Community
Rules Clarification Thread - Printable Version

+- Discovery Gaming Community (https://discoverygc.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Rules & Requests (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Forum: Rules (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+---- Forum: Official Disco Rules (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=306)
+---- Thread: Rules Clarification Thread (/showthread.php?tid=140171)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - Thunderer - 01-17-2018

====================
RULE: 4.4 Every char must have only one type of ID equipped and they must play to that ID. Ship and equipment infocards which specify their use on a specific ID or specific ship must only be used on that ID or ship. In all other cases where these restrictions and allowances conflict with the server rules, the ID overrides the rules except as described in 4.5
QUESTION: Let's say I'm flying a Kusari Exile ship through some Tau system. I meet a player. The player is flying a bomber and carries an ID that the Exiles are not at war with, for example a Freelancer ID. But he tells me that the emperor should be murdered with a hot iron rod into his anus and all exiles exiled into hell forever, for the benefit of the universe. May I shoot at him?
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:(Leave blank for Admin/Mod comment)


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - JorgeRyan - 01-23-2018

====================
RULE: 4.4 Every char must have only one type of ID equipped and they must play to that ID. Ship and equipment infocards which specify their use on a specific ID or specific ship must only be used on that ID or ship. In all other cases where these restrictions and allowances conflict with the server rules, the ID overrides the rules except as described in 4.5
QUESTION: When it comes to bustards, to my understanding, they are counted as liners/transports so that freelancers can fly them, yet they are treated as carriers/cruisers very often within roleplay, especially house laws. When I face a bustard, do I treat them as a transport (and thus under normal piracy rules) or as a capital ship?

====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:Bustards are treated as transports for engagement lines.
====================
RULE: 2. All faction IDs are allowed to claim bounties within their zone of influence. Generic IDs are only allowed to claim bounties if clearly specified in the ID description.
QUESTION: When bounty hunting within my factions ZoI, can I treat transports as a valid target?

====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:You may not engage transports for a bounty unless the ID specifies that you can, however you may claim transports on a bounty board if killed in some other way ie piracy or self defence.


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - Sand_Spider - 01-30-2018

====================
RULES: 1.1 Abusive, *vulgar, obscene,* political, racist, graphic, pornographic and law-violating materials.
1.4 *Adult content* or links to it; This also includes any anime that is in any way graphic or pornographic

QUESTION: What constitutes "Adult content"? What constitutes "vulgar" or "obscene" materials? Too often, I see posts (Mostly in Shoutbox, but sometimes in non-Flood, non-RP forum sections) that push the boundaries of these two rules. In some cases, I feel that these rules are being utterly ignored/broken by a number of individuals, and yet, because of the devolution of what's OK to say on TV, it seems that these rules are routinely forgotten.

Can we have a list of things that are NOT okay to post? Far too often, I see posts that are not only suggestive, but use downright vulgar words and/or terms, and yet no one seems to police this because the Community lacks a "Do-Not-Post" list of words to reference.
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER: (---)


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - The League - 02-01-2018

====================
RULE:6. All blanket bounties must identify a target and set a total amount to be paid out, or a set expiration date. Blanket bounties may only be issued by official factions, or by others so long as it is sponsored by an official faction. Out-of-roleplay sponsorships will not be valid. An official faction can only sponsor one unofficial group blanket bounty at a time.
QUESTION: Given that all RP IDs can attack Noms at their discretion, can anyone blanket bounty the aliens?
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:No. Blanket bounties are a privilege and right of Official factions only. Whether they sponsor it or host it themselves, the faction must be official.


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - Banned player t202085 - 02-17-2018

====================
RULE:3.6 Attacking without Roleplay. Players must be given reasonable time to react to hostilities.
QUESTION:If the trader clearly engages their thruster can you consider that a reaction? Example you advise a pliot to stop moving and CD them, they respond by by either dropping one line or none and start thrusting towards an npc station, can you engage once their thruster and the chase has?
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:Reasonable time is ten seconds from the first engagement line.


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - The Sovereign - 02-28-2018

====================
RULE:
Quote:4.1 If you die whilst in a PVP situation, in any form, you are considered as ''PVP Dead''. A PVP Dead player must:
Leave the system the fight took place in for two hours. You must not carry cargo while doing so and must not engage in any player interaction while you are leaving. Other players must allow a PVP Dead player to leave the system.
Not re-enter the system they died in on any of their characters for two hours.
Not attack the player/players they died to on any of their characters for two hours.
QUESTION: Can players return to a system they are pvp dead in, if an engagement they started in a different system is pulled there? For example: If I were to die in Bering, leave for Texas as per rules, and start a new engagement with a different character, and they flee to Bering, may I follow to continue my engagement?
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:If a legal engagement happened in a system you were not pvp dead in, and one of the participants fled to a system you are dead in, you are allowed to give chase to finish the interaction, leaving the system once the interaction is concluded. However, you may not engage the ships that killed you, so use your own discretion on whether or not you want to take the risk.


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - Kyoi - 04-21-2018

====================
RULE:
FR5 Wrote:Groups that have been subject to the use of FR5 by another faction, may treat this faction as hostile targets, except for transports.

QUESTION: Does this apply Sirius-wide? What about factions that do not control any npc diplomacy (eg Freelancer/Pirate) and thus do not use FR5s? Can someone declared hostile (the faction edits diplomacy) take initiative against these factions? Also, are factions that do control diplomacy allowed to bypass FR5 by simply declaring previously neutral factions as hostile? This might be unfair for the affected faction because they lack the ability to retaliate.
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:(Leave blank for Admin/Mod comment)



====================
RULE:
intelligence faction IDs Wrote:-Can ally with unlawful factions

QUESTION: Same as above, Sirius-wide? Or within ZoI? What restrictions are there to this, can someone shoot allies or ally with hostiles using this ID line? What is defined as 'allying' and how far does it go?
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:This is treated in a similar manner to the "May attack ships in self-defense line" commonly found on ID's. What makes it unique is that it also allows Intelligence ID's to be inrp groups and openly work together with Unlawfuls in ways that would get ships with the "may not ally with unlawfuls" line sanctioned.


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - Firestalker Drones - 04-28-2018

====================
RULE: 4. Mercenaries, freelancers and bounty hunters may be hired on the spot in game by non-generic IDed players to assist with a combat without a forum post.
QUESTION:
Are faction IDs and SRP IDs treat as non-generic ones?
If so, are Faction IDs that stem from the Freelancer ID able to hire a Freelancer ID?
Can any ID hire a freelancer ''on the spot'' while outside their ZOI.
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:SRP ID's are non-generic. Player Factions are slightly more blurred. However, being Official allows factions to post blanket bounties, and as such, Player Factions from the Freelancer ID would be able to hire other Freelancers.


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - Aristaan - 06-02-2018

====================
RULE: 4.4 Every char must have only one type of ID equipped and they must play to that ID. Ship and equipment infocards which specify their use on a specific ID or specific ship must only be used on that ID or ship. In all other cases where these restrictions and allowances conflict with the server rules, the ID overrides the rules except as described in 4.5
QUESTION: Can ID's with docking restrictions on cargo quantity (Cannot dock transports with cargo greater than 3,600 in house space) dock in house space on POB's?
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER: Unfortunately no. Player Owned Bases are still treated as bases for the cargo restriction lines such as the ones found on the Zoner ID.


RE: Rules Clarification Thread - Ruairi - 06-30-2018

====================
RULE: 3.6
QUESTION: I saw THIS green text:
(05-18-2018, 12:19 AM)The Sovereign Wrote: For the longest time the only ID not allowed to engage from cloak was the K'Hara. All other ID's may begin their engagement while cloaked, and standard pvp rules apply. Additionally, the "time to react" line specifically means that 10 seconds need to have passed from the first engagement line. There is still a minimum of two lines required to engage a target.
The inconsistent tenses in this confuse me. Can all other IDs besides K'Hara engage from cloak? The past tense in the first sentence implies "no", but the rest of the green text seems to say otherwise. I'm just...kinda lost.
====================
ADMIN/MOD ANSWER:Unless the ID specifically forbids it, you may engage from a cloaked standpoint. At current, only the K'Hara have this restriction.