Discovery Gaming Community
Brainstorming, aka ideas to improve discovery - Printable Version

+- Discovery Gaming Community (https://discoverygc.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Discovery Development (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: Discovery Mod General Discussion (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=37)
+--- Thread: Brainstorming, aka ideas to improve discovery (/showthread.php?tid=168404)

Brainstorming, aka ideas to improve discovery - Y'berg - 03-05-2019

As the title says, features and whatnot i came up during some boring metallurgy classes. Should be noted, I'm no expert of FLHook, or programming whatsoever, so i don't know how many of these could be plausible game wise.
  • Putting Discovery and/or freelancer on steam/steam workshop
This is probably the hardest one, since A: Freelancer's ownership rights are at MIcrosoft, so maybe not even a petition signed by the entire freelancer community would make it real. B: The mod might need to be optimised to steam workshop, which is a lot of work. On the plus side this should give a good amount of fresh blood the entire community

Now, let's get to the more reasonable ideas
  • Faction Tournament
Quite easy this one, since doesn't needs any programming magic. Factions (both indies and OF) go against eachother on fleet setups , where they compete with eachother. Rewards could be money, stuff, 3 magical golden wishes, whatever.
  • Tactical Cruisers
Based on aerelm's modular BW gunboat project, except that various parts should have different attributes (higher thruster speed, cruise or ability to anomaly scanner, shield regen/base hull etc) this would be a multirole combat or exploration vessel, with highly customisable loadouts, on the negative side, this might be a balancing nightmare, would need multiple different hull parts, and FLHook to grant the various attributes to the different modules.
  • Cruise Disruption Field Generator