Discovery Gaming Community
Captaining a Battleship Queries - Printable Version

+- Discovery Gaming Community (https://discoverygc.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Welcome (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=399)
+--- Forum: Help & Support (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=26)
+--- Thread: Captaining a Battleship Queries (/showthread.php?tid=183421)

Captaining a Battleship Queries - Orion_Carstein - 09-18-2020

So I have been playing Discovery for a while now and I have just about enough funds to purchase my first battleship/dread naught for my Outcast character. I just wanted to get some advice/tips on what sort of load out to equip it with?

Also the majority of the territory which the Outcasts lay claim to have massive asteroid fields in it and I think that a battleship would really struggle to navigate and move through these. Am I right? How do you get around this?

RE: Captaining a Battleship Queries - Champ - 09-18-2020

I'm no PVP expert, but I understand primaries, secondaries, some (2) pulses, and some (2-4?) heavy weapons like cerberuses, and it usually works out. It's recommended to play around in single player and use the tools there (type help) to figure out what you're comfortable with.

As for asteroid fields, there isn't getting around them, unless they're actually something you can avoid by flying around them. Get used to bouncing off of them, is my understanding.

Hopefully some more people with better cap fighting knowledge will post.

RE: Captaining a Battleship Queries - Lonely_Ghost - 09-18-2020

Well, first you need to decided your primary goal to have a BS.
PvPing or PvEing.

For effective PvE- doing those 5M missions in solo, you'll need something long range, like Mortars/Heavy Mortars. I'd advise you to have mortars, as they are less energy hungry, fast re-fire rate, and in cause one of your projective gona miss the target, it won't be that painful. But you should have 2 of them. 1 wont do the trick.