Discovery Gaming Community
Remodeling Bases - Printable Version

+- Discovery Gaming Community (https://discoverygc.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Discovery Development (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: Discovery Mod General Discussion (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=37)
+--- Thread: Remodeling Bases (/showthread.php?tid=21230)

Pages: 1 2 3 4

Remodeling Bases - BlueSpawn - 05-31-2009

I'm not sure the proper way to do this, but here goes:

The original developers at Digital Anvil either had awful concept art designers and/or 3 days to create all of the game's spacestations. They are all identical and not very pretty. I am a modeler/texture artist and although I have limited Freelancer modding experience, I'm willing to learn.

My proposal is to redo the current spacestation designs in Discovery/Freelancer by basing them on architectural patterns found in faction ships --- A Rheinland station should look more like its battleship design, not like a station that you see in Liberty, Kusari, Britonia, everywhere-bloody-else.

I also want to take it a step further and organize designs according to current factions. A TAZ owned base in Baffin, for example, should be textured with faction colors in mind and preferably a visible logo.

Here's an example taken from another game (no I do not plan on using this specific design):

[Image: je_small_7.jpg]

Note the faction color designation and logo inserted into a "tele-screen." This would add a nice level of variation. It would also make bases easier to remember if they don't all look bloody identical to one another.

For this sub-project I would need a few things:

1. Approval from the community and other developers. (Or does everybody prefer the monotony and lack of variety present in Freelancer?)

2. I can do the modeling and texturing, but I would need help with the modding of the game.