Discovery Gaming Community
Rather surprised at the lack of community feeling - Printable Version

+- Discovery Gaming Community (https://discoverygc.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Rules & Requests (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Forum: Site & Forum Feedback (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=14)
+--- Thread: Rather surprised at the lack of community feeling (/showthread.php?tid=44526)

Pages: 1 2

Rather surprised at the lack of community feeling - technophebe - 07-29-2010

I'm an old time Freelancer player, old OLD time RP'er, and fairly new to Discovery. I just wanted to share my experiences on the server and message boards because I've been rather surprised by the cold reception I've received as a new player.

The mod itself is fantastic, and I was very excited to have discovered an online community based around a space exploration game, the genre has always been a favourite of mine. I've had great fun exploring the new systems, making a bit of money and getting back into the game, which I haven't played for a good long time.

Foe the first few days I tried hailing other players when I encountered them in game, trying to strike up (in character) conversations, as a bored intergalactic trader might, but after several days of one world responses to my attempts (and maybe a single actual RP conversation), I decided to try something different, and began reading the factions' recruit threads, to look for a faction that interested me.