Discovery Gaming Community
A Linux question and a Windows question - Printable Version

+- Discovery Gaming Community (https://discoverygc.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The Community (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Real Life Discussion (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=16)
+---- Forum: Software & Hardware (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+---- Thread: A Linux question and a Windows question (/showthread.php?tid=52168)

Pages: 1 2

A Linux question and a Windows question - Death.RunningVerminator - 12-27-2010

I'm a total noob when it comes to Linux. As in.. I just installed Linux on a different comp yesterday.

[12:05:53 PM] DRV: So uh. I tried Linux on a different computer, and the only problem i found was that when i download an exe and click on it, it opens up it's files and stuff
[12:06:00 PM] DRV: it doesn't actually run the exe
[12:06:06 PM] DRV: Any suggestions?

Windows question:

[12:11:36 PM] DRV: When i click "view available networks" there are no networks to view. it's just blank. And windows doesn't even acknowledge that the adapter is there.

Thanks!

:)

A Linux question and a Windows question - Bobthemanofsteel - 12-27-2010

' Wrote:I'm a total noob when it comes to Linux.
Seems kinda dumb to install it then, eh?

Linux

Windows, try disabling then reenabling the network adapter.
Assuming you've actually got it connected to a network.

' Wrote:Seems kinda dumb to install it then, eh?

Linux

Windows, try disabling then reenabling the network adapter.
Assuming you've actually got it connected to a network.
*facepalm* someone should have told me that Linux doesn't run exes before I installed it..

Anywho.

I mean, i can't even see the icons or anything. I go to "my network places" click on, "view available networks" and there's nothing but a blank spot.

Thanks!

:)

P.S. Long time no see Bob.

A Linux question and a Windows question - Dantrithor - 12-27-2010