Discovery Gaming Community
Guns don't do enough damage - Printable Version

+- Discovery Gaming Community (https://discoverygc.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Discovery Development (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: Discovery Mod General Discussion (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=37)
+---- Forum: Discovery Mod Balance (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=31)
+---- Thread: Guns don't do enough damage (/showthread.php?tid=81438)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Guns don't do enough damage - beedo - 06-03-2012

Flame me, hate me, I thoroughly expect it.

Background information: I have been playing Freelancer since 2003. I am an active PvPer. I also like RP, which is why I am on this wonderful server to begin with.

Nukes are nice. MR's are nice.

Class 10 guns simply don't pack enough damage to ships running around with AU 8s. One direct hit salvo will knock off a paltry bar of hull where a mine or MR drops hull well below halfway from hull.

These mod weapons don't bother me, I think they are properly balanced for end-level pvp. But it seems they have been balanced for pvp involving AU8s, where the class 10 guns have been left behind and have stats suitable for pvp at the standard armor level.

Does anyone else feel the same way?

Maybe I'm just bad at this game.

Don't get me wrong, the guns are fine for their shield damage output because there's no upgrade that increases your shield by x2.5. The proper way to balance this it seems to me would to make all class 9 and 10 guns do at least 50% more hull damage while keeping shield damage the same.

Guns don't do enough damage - Ichiru - 06-03-2012

It depends on what codies you use really. Jades don't do enough damage in a single hit, but Archangels to quite a bit. As for nuke mines being stronger, you don't use 6000 credits every time you fire a Codie. You get what you pay for.

Guns don't do enough damage - Govedo13 - 06-03-2012