Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: Bringing Logic into Disco : Structural Load Transfer on Bases
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
WARNING: IF YOU WANT TO LIVE IN THE WORLD OF SCI-FI FANTASY THEN DONT READ THIS THREAD. K?
NOTE: THIS IS NOT A QQ THREAD TOWARDS DEV TEAM CONCERNING BASES OR BLAH BLAH...

Note: Im a architectural student studying this stuff... so yeah.

Before I begin the discussion I would like to put out a few assumptions that I made prior to posting this and to whom I am talking about. The following are a list of assumptions:

1. Artificial gravity on stations exist which makes it possible for people to actually walk and perform correctly on stations.
2. People know generally how loads are transferred.... or can quickly learn via me explaining.

Assuming those two points are correct, I will first talk about the issues and what the game fails at doing/showing concerning any base in general in game. I will then focus on the design of PoBs since that is the topic I want to get at in the end.

So what is load transfer in buildings and construction?
Basically there are two different types of loading you have to consider when creating a structural design. Dead Load and Live Load. Dead load is to do with the force coming from the structure itself. It can be the weight of the members, the concrete, etc. The live load is to do with the loads that can be changed. For example: People, furniture, wind, snow, rain, etc. With all this in mind, a general formula for this is 1.25D + 1.5L. (ofc there is more formulas and stuff like that but this is the extreme basics.This formula shows how much these loads are important as they are factored a bit more for safety)