Discovery Gaming Community

Full Version: Thank you Discovery, Farewell
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5
Farewell, the decade-long and wonderful journey that is Discovery Freelancer has ended for me. I had many breaks, some of which were lengthy, but I always planned to come back at a later date. This time I made a final decision to close this chapter and move on. All good things come to an end eventually, but it's been one hell of a joyful ride. I quite literally grew up with Discovery (I started playing when I was 12), it was and still is by far the most influential video game in my life on which I spent thousands of hours, directly or indirectly. It taught me many things, primarily writing and speaking English as well as giving me a lot of real life experience. It taught me how to express myself, be somewhat decent at writing stories (I always lacked imagination), argument with people especially if they oppose your opinion fiercely, be tolerant and respectful so long as the other side is too, meet countless good and hardworking people with amazing potential who all came here same as we all do - to have fun. It taught me how wonderful people can be but also how far some are willing to go when it comes to mistreating people or screwing them over just because of pixel power. Even the people I strongly disliked have taught me what not to be and gave me experience to deal with people similar to them in real life.