• Home
  • Index
  • Search
  • Download
  • Server Rules
  • House Roleplay Laws
  • Player Utilities
  • Player Help
  • Forum Utilities
  • Returning Player?
  • Toggle Sidebar
Interactive Nav-Map
Tutorials
New Wiki
ID reference
Restart reference
Players Online
Player Activity
Faction Activity
Player Base Status
Discord Help Channel
DarkStat
Server public configs
POB Administration
Missing Powerplant
Stuck in Connecticut
Account Banned
Lost Ship/Account
POB Restoration
Disconnected
Member List
Forum Stats
Show Team
View New Posts
View Today's Posts
Calendar
Help
Archive Mode




Hi there Guest,  
Existing user?   Sign in    Create account
Login
Username:
Password: Lost Password?
 
  Discovery Gaming Community Rules & Requests Rules
« Previous 1 … 11 12 13 14 15 … 198 Next »
ID rule inquiry - "Can attack Faction A anywhere."

Server Time (24h)

Players Online

Active Events - Scoreboard

Latest activity

Pages (2): 1 2 Next »
ID rule inquiry - "Can attack Faction A anywhere."
Offline SnakThree
03-25-2016, 08:40 PM, (This post was last modified: 03-25-2016, 08:46 PM by SnakThree.)
#1
Member
Posts: 9,091
Threads: 337
Joined: Mar 2010

I would like to ask about particular line on IDs:

"Can attack Faction A anywhere."

Does this mean that such ID user can attack trade ships from "Faction A" without any sort of demand?

I am not looking for a discussion, but I am making this inquiry in public forum so that an answer from a staff member is public as well. Preferably, I'd have no discussion to not pollute the thread with subjective opinions.

[Image: rTrJole.png][Image: LJ88XSk.png]
[Image: ka0AQa5.png][Image: QwWqCS8.png]
  Reply  
Offline The Savage
03-25-2016, 08:42 PM,
#2
Probation
Posts: 1,034
Threads: 60
Joined: Nov 2015

Yes you can. It was already discussed and Admins gave it a green light text about it, but I'm afraid it was lost due to server rollback.
Reply  
Offline Lythrilux
03-25-2016, 08:42 PM, (This post was last modified: 03-25-2016, 08:42 PM by Lythrilux.)
#3
Edgy Worlds
Posts: 10,343
Threads: 736
Joined: Jan 2013

I'd imagine it still requires a demand because it does not specify "can attack A anywhere including transports" or "can attack A and A transports anywhere without a demand" or something.

EDIT:
(03-25-2016, 08:42 PM)Toris Wrote: Yes you can. It was already discussed and Admins gave it a green light text about it, but I'm afraid it was lost due to server rollback.

Oh really? Would be good to get them to re-post that message in here then.

[Image: Lythrilux.gif]
Reply  
Offline SnakThree
03-25-2016, 08:43 PM, (This post was last modified: 03-25-2016, 08:43 PM by SnakThree.)
#4
Member
Posts: 9,091
Threads: 337
Joined: Mar 2010

(03-25-2016, 08:42 PM)Toris Wrote: Yes you can. It was already discussed and Admins gave it a green light text about it, but I'm afraid it was lost due to server rollback.

Which is exactly why a random opinion without a statement from admin is absolutely irrelevant here.

[Image: rTrJole.png][Image: LJ88XSk.png]
[Image: ka0AQa5.png][Image: QwWqCS8.png]
  Reply  
Offline The Savage
03-25-2016, 08:50 PM, (This post was last modified: 03-25-2016, 08:51 PM by The Savage.)
#5
Probation
Posts: 1,034
Threads: 60
Joined: Nov 2015

So it is safe to assume this rule is in use for now:

(04-03-2015, 08:41 AM)aerelm Wrote: The "Can attack anywhere" line on some IDs only overwrites the ZoI restrictions, not any of the rules.
Reply  
Offline Arioch
03-25-2016, 08:57 PM,
#6
Retired Zoner Overlord
Posts: 1,938
Threads: 219
Joined: May 2011

RP is always needed, but with lines like that, you do not need to make a demand. That INCLUDES transports as well, unless the ID states otherwise. You still need to RP and provide engagement notice, but you don't have to make a demand.

Green text time! When an ID says "Can attack <INSERT FACTION NAME HERE> anywhere", that includes transports unless otherwise indicated.
Reply  
Offline SnakThree
03-25-2016, 09:00 PM, (This post was last modified: 03-25-2016, 09:02 PM by SnakThree.)
#7
Member
Posts: 9,091
Threads: 337
Joined: Mar 2010

(03-25-2016, 08:57 PM)Drrobe Wrote: RP is always needed, but with lines like that, you do not need to make a demand. That INCLUDES transports as well, unless the ID states otherwise. You still need to RP and provide engagement notice, but you don't have to make a demand.

Green text time! When an ID says "Can attack <INSERT FACTION NAME HERE> anywhere", that includes transports unless otherwise indicated.

You just opened a horrible can of worms. I feared the worst and here it is.

Now I urge you to reconsider this as it voids necessity to provide a demand that allows trader to choose what to lose, everything or just cargo/money.

[Image: rTrJole.png][Image: LJ88XSk.png]
[Image: ka0AQa5.png][Image: QwWqCS8.png]
  Reply  
Offline The Savage
03-25-2016, 09:00 PM, (This post was last modified: 03-25-2016, 09:02 PM by The Savage.)
#8
Probation
Posts: 1,034
Threads: 60
Joined: Nov 2015

(03-25-2016, 08:57 PM)Drrobe Wrote: When an ID says "Can attack <INSERT FACTION NAME HERE> anywhere", that includes transports unless otherwise indicated.

So, to make it clear, this line prevails the other line like "can attack unlawfuls except for transports"?

(03-25-2016, 09:00 PM)Snak3 Wrote: You just opened a horrible can of worms. I feared the worst and here it is.

Well, it actually makes sense for Xeno ID or Hogosha ID since I rarely see Junkers flying in combat ships - Salvager counts as transport rulewise.
Reply  
Offline Lythrilux
03-25-2016, 09:02 PM,
#9
Edgy Worlds
Posts: 10,343
Threads: 736
Joined: Jan 2013

(03-25-2016, 09:00 PM)Toris Wrote:
(03-25-2016, 08:57 PM)Drrobe Wrote: When an ID says "Can attack <INSERT FACTION NAME HERE> anywhere", that includes transports unless otherwise indicated.

So, to make it clear, this line prevails the other line like "can attack unlawfuls except for transports"?

ID overrides the rules, so no.

[Image: Lythrilux.gif]
Reply  
Offline SnakThree
03-25-2016, 09:04 PM,
#10
Member
Posts: 9,091
Threads: 337
Joined: Mar 2010

(03-25-2016, 09:00 PM)Toris Wrote:
(03-25-2016, 08:57 PM)Drrobe Wrote: When an ID says "Can attack <INSERT FACTION NAME HERE> anywhere", that includes transports unless otherwise indicated.

So, to make it clear, this line prevails the other line like "can attack unlawfuls except for transports"?

(03-25-2016, 09:00 PM)Snak3 Wrote: You just opened a horrible can of worms. I feared the worst and here it is.

Well, it actually makes sense for Xeno ID or Hogosha ID since I rarely see Junkers flying in combat ships - Salvager counts as transport rulewise.

There are dozen of other IDs that can act as terrorists and make no demands towards trade ships. I doubt that indie traders will be thrilled to be shot down without a demand.

[Image: rTrJole.png][Image: LJ88XSk.png]
[Image: ka0AQa5.png][Image: QwWqCS8.png]
  Reply  
Pages (2): 1 2 Next »


  • View a Printable Version
  • Subscribe to this thread


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)



Powered By MyBB, © 2002-2025 MyBB Group. Theme © 2014 iAndrew & DiscoveryGC
  • Contact Us
  •  Lite mode
Linear Mode
Threaded Mode