• Home
  • Index
  • Search
  • Download
  • Server Rules
  • House Roleplay Laws
  • Player Utilities
  • Player Help
  • Forum Utilities
  • Returning Player?
  • Toggle Sidebar
Interactive Nav-Map
Tutorials
New Wiki
ID reference
Restart reference
Players Online
Player Activity
Faction Activity
Player Base Status
Discord Help Channel
DarkStat
Server public configs
POB Administration
Missing Powerplant
Stuck in Connecticut
Account Banned
Lost Ship/Account
POB Restoration
Disconnected
Member List
Forum Stats
Show Team
View New Posts
View Today's Posts
Calendar
Help
Archive Mode




Hi there Guest,  
Existing user?   Sign in    Create account
Login
Username:
Password: Lost Password?
 
  Discovery Gaming Community Rules & Requests Rules
« Previous 1 … 11 12 13 14 15 … 198 Next »
ID rule inquiry - "Can attack Faction A anywhere."

Server Time (24h)

Players Online

Active Events - Scoreboard

Latest activity

Pages (2): « Previous 1 2
ID rule inquiry - "Can attack Faction A anywhere."
Offline The Savage
03-25-2016, 09:04 PM, (This post was last modified: 03-25-2016, 09:09 PM by The Savage.)
#11
Probation
Posts: 1,034
Threads: 60
Joined: Nov 2015

(03-25-2016, 09:02 PM)Lythrilux Wrote:
(03-25-2016, 09:00 PM)Toris Wrote:
(03-25-2016, 08:57 PM)Drrobe Wrote: When an ID says "Can attack <INSERT FACTION NAME HERE> anywhere", that includes transports unless otherwise indicated.

So, to make it clear, this line prevails the other line like "can attack unlawfuls except for transports"?

ID overrides the rules, so no.

I actually meant a problem in which we have lines:
- Can attack X anywhere.
- Can engage any ship within ZOI, except (for) transports.


Edit: I reffed to the line "- Can attack X anywhere", not the green text. Sorry for being unclear here.
Reply  
Offline Corile
03-25-2016, 10:06 PM,
#12
C::iemka pl
Posts: 3,243
Threads: 265
Joined: Apr 2014

I don't see why it's such a big deal. It makes perfect sense for some factions to want to be as big male genitals to some other ones as possible. It's logical for Gaians to hurt Planetform as much as they can for instance.




Reflections on the Revolution in Gallia
Custodi // High City of Heraklion // The Cult of Archangels
Log Filter // Post Creator // Manhattan
  Reply  
Offline The Savage
03-25-2016, 10:10 PM, (This post was last modified: 03-25-2016, 10:11 PM by The Savage.)
#13
Probation
Posts: 1,034
Threads: 60
Joined: Nov 2015

(03-25-2016, 10:06 PM)Protégé Wrote: I don't see why it's such a big deal.

Some people doesn't want to be sanctioned for a line, which cannot be enforced onto transports according to the other line. That is why such a clarification is needed.
Reply  
Offline SnakThree
03-25-2016, 10:15 PM,
#14
Member
Posts: 9,091
Threads: 337
Joined: Mar 2010

(03-25-2016, 10:06 PM)Protégé Wrote: I don't see why it's such a big deal. It makes perfect sense for some factions to want to be as big male genitals to some other ones as possible. It's logical for Gaians to hurt Planetform as much as they can for instance.

Most likely because trade ships can be destroyed without a demand. I, and I assume many more, thought that transports can only be treated as combat targets if it is explicitly written on ID. It is not the case, as long as transport belongs to the named faction on your ID. It opens room for some malicious "piracy".

[Image: rTrJole.png][Image: LJ88XSk.png]
[Image: ka0AQa5.png][Image: QwWqCS8.png]
  Reply  
Offline Doria
03-25-2016, 10:23 PM, (This post was last modified: 03-25-2016, 10:26 PM by Doria.)
#15
Omicron Supply Industries
Posts: 718
Threads: 31
Joined: Mar 2013

(03-25-2016, 09:04 PM)Toris Wrote: I actually meant a problem in which we have lines:
- Can attack X anywhere.
- Can engage any ship within ZOI, except (for) transports.

That one should be obvious, I think. That ID can attack ANY ship in their ZoI, except for transports. But, if said ship is from the X faction, they can attack it anywhere, even transports. Otherwise said ID would be able to attack transports of the X faction outside of their ZoI, but not inside... It makes no sense then.

If that's not the case, clarification is really needed.
Reply  
Offline SnakThree
03-25-2016, 10:27 PM,
#16
Member
Posts: 9,091
Threads: 337
Joined: Mar 2010

I just talked this case with another member. And it either contradicts itself or simply adds new permission, which is more likely scenario.

However, this also opens up factions such as GMG and Core to engage transports that are hostile to their mini-house without demands.



I believe it would be easier to universally apply rule that all trade ship has to be issued a demand. Exception to this would be collecting bounty on such trade ship.

[Image: rTrJole.png][Image: LJ88XSk.png]
[Image: ka0AQa5.png][Image: QwWqCS8.png]
  Reply  
Offline The Savage
03-25-2016, 10:35 PM, (This post was last modified: 03-25-2016, 10:42 PM by The Savage.)
#17
Probation
Posts: 1,034
Threads: 60
Joined: Nov 2015

(03-25-2016, 10:23 PM)Doria Wrote: That one should be obvious, (...)
But that's just me. I use logic on a daily basis.

I simply asked, because of the green text which up to this thread stated:
(04-03-2015, 08:41 AM)aerelm Wrote: The "Can attack anywhere" line on some IDs only overwrites the ZoI restrictions, not any of the rules.
Reply  
Offline SnakThree
04-02-2016, 08:31 PM,
#18
Member
Posts: 9,091
Threads: 337
Joined: Mar 2010

Actually. Upon looking closer. Aerelm's statement from 2015 is contradicted by Drrobe's. It's odd how rules change without notice, right?

[Image: rTrJole.png][Image: LJ88XSk.png]
[Image: ka0AQa5.png][Image: QwWqCS8.png]
  Reply  
Offline WesternPeregrine
04-02-2016, 08:43 PM,
#19
Kusari Vanguard
Posts: 2,311
Threads: 166
Joined: Oct 2013

(03-25-2016, 08:57 PM)Drrobe Wrote: RP is always needed, but with lines like that, you do not need to make a demand. That INCLUDES transports as well, unless the ID states otherwise. You still need to RP and provide engagement notice, but you don't have to make a demand.

Green text time! When an ID says "Can attack <INSERT FACTION NAME HERE> anywhere", that includes transports unless otherwise indicated.

Hogosha ID 1
Hogosha ID 2
Hogosha ID 3

It seems that the Hogosha case goes against that line, since it has to explicit include transports in it's "can attack junkers" line. Understandable, since they have many other lines that affect what they can do inside their zoi, and inside house space (within zoi). The line without the transports remark would leave situation where Junkers couldn't be attacked, because they were transports.

More clarification and standardization of the rules hierarchy is needed.

[+]SIGNATURE
Kusari Former Mastermind
[Image: 5tZIDB3.jpg]
========================
| The Kusari Legal Codex |
| Character Profiles | The North Star Bulletin News|
Reply  
Offline Arioch
04-03-2016, 05:07 AM,
#20
Retired Zoner Overlord
Posts: 1,938
Threads: 219
Joined: May 2011

Keep in mind, we also have ID lines that say, "Can attack <NAME> anywhere, EXCLUDING transports". So there are 3 varying ID lines regarding this.

1: Can attack <NAME> anywhere, including transports
2: Can attack <NAME> anywhere, excluding transports
3: Can attack <NAME> anywhere.

So Snak3, it's not that rules changed, or that we didn't give notice. It was assumed/accepted by multiple I've spoken with excluding you that the 3rd line means all ships. Which doesn't contradict Aerelm's post, it just means we weren't clear about #3 like we were with the first two.

So my green text was to clarify #3, that it aligns with #1, not #2.

Now before Snak3 or whoever wants my head of the staff's head for this, we are looking at working on updating ID's as many are very outdated and need updating, as we have cases like this where ID's have varying text. When that change will come, who knows. But it is being discussed because I (and we as staff) agree that there are some conflicting lines in ID's that need to be fixed and have universal verbiage.

[Image: drrobe.gif]
Reply  
Pages (2): « Previous 1 2


  • View a Printable Version
  • Subscribe to this thread


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)



Powered By MyBB, © 2002-2025 MyBB Group. Theme © 2014 iAndrew & DiscoveryGC
  • Contact Us
  •  Lite mode
Linear Mode
Threaded Mode